The Industrial Commission of Arizona recently announced that Arizona’s minimum wage (currently $8.05 per hour) will NOT increase for 2016.
Despite the fact that Arizona’s minimum wage is unchanged for 2016, the Industrial Commission of Arizona has issued a new minimum wage poster for 2016, which employers must post in a conspicuous place in the workplace starting January 1, 2016.
The minimum wage poster for 2016 is available here.
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry has issued a new Safety and Health Protection on the Job notice. All Minnesota employers are required to post this new notice in a conspicuous place in the workplace effective immediately.
The new Safety and Health Protection on the Job notice can be found on the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry’s website.
Despite the fact that Oregon’s minimum wage will remain at $9.25 per hour for 2016, the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries has issued a revised Oregon Minimum Wage poster for 2016 in both English and Spanish.
Starting January 1, 2016, this poster must be posted by all Oregon employers in a conspicuous place in the worksite, where employees may regularly view them. Employers with more than one work location in Oregon are required to display this poster at each worksite.
For additional guidance on Oregon’s posting requirements for employers, please see the guidelines published by the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries.
The Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance recently announced that Ohio’s minimum wage (currently $8.10 per hour) will NOT increase for 2016.
Under Ohio law, state minimum wage is adjusted annually to reflect changes in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (“CPI-W”). Since the CPI-W decreased in the past year (August 2014 to August 2015), Ohio’s minimum wage will not increase in 2016.
Despite the fact that Ohio’s minimum wage is unchanged for 2016, the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance has issued a new minimum wage poster for 2016, which employers must post in a conspicuous place in the workplace starting January 1, 2016.
The minimum wage poster for 2016 is available from the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance.
On July 25, 2015, Rhode Island amended its Fair Employment Practices Act to include new protections for pregnancy, childbirth, and/or related medical conditions. Under the new law, employers are required to provide reasonable accommodations for conditions related to pregnancy and childbirth. These reasonable accommodations include, but are not limited to frequent or longer breaks, time off to recover from childbirth, appropriate seating, less strenuous duties, break time with a private non-bathroom space for expressing breast milk, and a modified work schedule. If requested by the employee, a leave of absence may also be considered a reasonable accommodation, but employers are not permitted to require an employee to take a leave of absence from work if another reasonable accommodation can be provided.
While this new law went into effect immediately, important to Rhode Island employers at this time is the new notice posting requirements set forth in the new law. Specifically, the new law requires employers post and provide notice of the law’s protections: (i) to all new employees at the start of their employment, (ii) within 10 days of any employee notifying her employer of her pregnancy, and (iii) to all current employees on or before October 23, 2015.
With the deadline to provide notice of the new law’s protections to all current employees rapidly approaching, it is important that Rhode Island employers ensure that they will comply with the new posting requirements before the October 23, 2015 deadline. A copy of the poster developed by the Rhode Island Commission for Human Rights is available here and may be used to notify employees of their rights.
Effective September 1, 2015, Michigan’s Safety and Health Protection on the Job notice has been revised to include new reporting requirements for all Michigan employers.
The changes to the reporting requirements include:
- Fatal workplace accidents must be reported within 8 hours of the fatality. Moreover, in case of a fatality, employers must provide a detailed report;
- Severe on-the-job injuries that require hospitalization but do not result in death must be reported within 24 hours. This new reporting requirement includes all work-related hospitalizations, amputations or loss of an eye.
The above-reports must be filed regardless of the size of the business. All employers, including those partially exempted by reason of company size or industry classification, are required to comply with the new severe injury and illness reporting requirements and to post the updated employment notice.
The new poster regarding the new “Healthy Workplaces/Healthy Families Act of 2014 Paid Sick Leave” is now available. The poster must be displayed where employees can easily read it. The notice requirement takes effect on January 1, 2015, but the employee’s ability to accrue and use paid sick leave under the new law doesn’t take effect until July 1, 2015.
The law providing new leave rights to victims of violence becomes effective on October 1, 2013. The law applies to public and private employers with more than 25 employees. The law requires that employers display a poster outlining the rights under the new law. The poster is now available and must be posted by October 1, 2013.